The finalists for the 2018 Young Architects Program (YAP) have been announced by the Museum of Modern Art and MoMA PS1. Each year, 30 young practices are nominated by deans of architecture schools and editors of architecture publications for a chance to compete to build a temporary outdoor installation in the courtyard of MoMA PS1. After a portfolio review, the initial group of 30 is culled down to five firms, who are asked to submit initial proposals for the project.

This year’s UCLA A.UD finalists are FreelandBuck (David Freeland '04 and Brennan Buck M.Arch.I '04) and BairBalliet (Kelly Bair M.Arch.I '05 and Kristy Balliet M.Arch.I '04).  Learn more about each of the 2018 finalists below. Full article from Architect's Newspaper is available here. 

The Next Port of Call by BairBalliet for the 15th Venice Architecture Biennale (BairBalliet)


BairBalliet is a collaborative effort between Chicago-based Kelly Bair and Los Angeles-based Kristy Balliet. BairBalliet’s work was presented as part of the US Pavilion for the 2016 Venice Architecture Biennial. Along with co-founding BairBalliet, Kelly Bair is the principal of Central Standard Office of Design and is an assistant professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago’s School of Architecture. Kristy Balliet, principal of Balliet Studio, is currently faculty at the Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc) and an associate professor at The Ohio State University’s Knowlton School of Architecture. Through both speculative and built work, the team explores precedent and form in two and three dimensions.

Parallax Gap by FreelandBuck for the Renwick Gallery in the Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington D.C. (FreelandBuck)


The bi-coastal FreelandBuck is led by David Freeland and Brennan Buck. Freeland is currently a faculty member at the Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc), and Buck is a faculty member at the Yale School of Architecture. FreelandBuck’s work ranges from residential and commercial through urban and institutional projects, with an emphasis on complex digitally-fabricated geometries.

The winner will be announced in early 2018.