403C.4, Research Studio
Kivi Sotamaa, Adjunct Associate Professor
Digital design, additive manufacturing (3D printing), and tailored material technologies are causing a paradigm shift in the physical world. This shift holds immense technical, commercial and artistic potential and value. The transition will change traditional manufacturing based business models, supply chains, value creation dynamics, and earning logics. Business mod- els based on traditional material transportation are increasingly replaced by manufacturing based on digital transfer of files and local production
Additive manufacturing and designed materials can enable a new degree of nuance and differentiation in construction and manufacturing. With additive manufacturing complexity is free, which holds considerable potential for improved products, competitive edge and added business value. There is expressive potential in uniqueness, ornamentation, sculptural form and movement, and performative potential in structural optimization and ergonomics.
The Animal research studio focused on exploring the creative potential additive manufacturing technologies, in their broadest sense, introduce into architecture. The students explored how buildings may become by analogy more like animals with highly differentiated parts forming an increasingly a sensate, organic, electro-material whole. The works generated from the studio create new architectural effects with the help of additive manufacturing by combining elements not normally found together in a building, such as images, interactive media, patterns, literal movement. Our design projects add ‘animal’ into architecture, and content into the 3D printing hype - pushing to the fore issues related to aesthetics, representation, movement, interaction. In short, the students will be asked to coordinate a multitude of technologies towards a sensible, sensate building design, which contributes to the contemporary architecture discourse.
Students: Huwayda Fakhry, Daniel Feig, Brandon Harper, Mehr Khanpour, Julie Mithun Raman Mustafa, Peter Nguyen, Peter Stavros.