Master of Architecture I Degree Program

First professional degree in Architecture. 

Accredited by NAAB.
3 years.

Learn more about our programs by attending a live online Admissions Information Session:

Click here to download our graduate catalogue.

Join our email list to receive updates on graduate admissions at A.UD.

Master of Architecture I
The Master of Architecture I (M.Arch.I), accredited by the NAAB, is the basic professional degree in architecture at UCLA. It is offered to students who want to acquire the skills and knowledge needed to practice architecture professionally. It consists of three years of study, including design studios, required course work, and electives.

From the NAAB
In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit  professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted a eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Architecture and Urban Design offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs: M.Arch.I (126 graduate credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2016

To read more about the NAAB Conditions of Accreditation

Current and previous NAAB Conditions and Procedures (2009 and 2014):

NAAB Accreditation http://www.naab.org/accreditation/home

NAAB 2014 Conditions for Accreditation 

NAAB 2015 Procedures for Accreditation 

NAAB 2009 Conditions for Accreditation 

NAAB 2011 Procedures for Accreditation 

NAAB UCLA 2015 Architecture Program Report

NAAB UCLA 2010 Architecture Program Report

NAAB 2010 Visiting Team Report

NAAB 2010 Descision Letter

NAAB 2011 Annual Statistical Report

NAAB 2012 Annual Statistical Report

NAAB 2013 Annual Statistical Report

NAAB 2014 Annual Statistical Report